ASHRAE names new President, Officers and Directors for 2017-2018

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) introduced its 2017-2018 president, executive committee officers and directors during its Annual Conference in Long Beach, California

Bjarne W. Olesen

ASHRAE’s newly elected president is Bjarne W. Olesen, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE.

At his inaugural presidential address, Olesen announced his term’s theme will be “Extending Our Community.” Through this theme, Olesen will focus his time as the Society’s leader on extending ASHRAE’s global community, technological horizons and overall value to the Society’s members.

In addition to serving as the Society’s president, Olesen will continue to serve as a professor at the Technical University of Denmark. During his term, he will also serve as chair of ASHRAE’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee.

Ashrae also elected six officers, who will serve one-year terms, as well as nine directors, who will hold three-year terms from 2017-20.