New IEST executive board announced

The US-based environmental monitoring society has elected its new officers for the year

US-based society for environmental monitoring, the Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology (IEST) has appointed its new officers for the year’s term beginning 1 July, 2010.

R. Vijayakumar moves from the position of president-elect to IEST president. He has served as IEST fiscal vice-president and chair of Contamination Control (CC) Working Group-001, 002, and 034. He has managed and successfully led departments and divisions of companies in various technical and business aspects of the contamination control industry for more than 25 years. Vijay is now president of AERFIL and holds an MS and a PhD, both in mechanical engineering, from the University of Minnesota.

New officers are: Fredric Fey, technical vice- president (Design, Test, and Evaluation/Product Reliability) and Ahmad Soueid, International Advisory Council vice-president.

Fey is president and owner of VibroAcoustics Technologies, which supplies and supports complete turn-key vibration systems. He is a Senior Member and former President of IEST.

Soueid serves as HDR's National Director for the Advanced Science & Technology Research programme. He has over two decades of experience on the design of technically challenging facilities in advanced research fields such as nanotechnology, metrology, material sciences, and quantum computing. Soueid has led the design efforts on a prestigious list of nano-scale research projects in the private and public sectors.

Remaining on the Executive Board are Roger Diener, Education vice-president (Contamination Control); Carl Moran, Education vice-president (Design, Test, and Evaluation/Product Reliability); Greg Winn, Membership vice-president; Matt Smyers, Fiscal vice-president; Gary Knoth, Technical vice-president (Contamination Control); Michael Rataj, moving to the role of immediate past president; Christine Peterson, moving to the role of president-elect; and Roberta Burrows, executive director.